Operating any vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in Ohio. No one is allowed to operate or control a vehicle, water skis or other devices if they are on drugs or under the influence of alcohol. If a person is impaired when driving any kind of vehicle, he or she could be putting him or herself and others in danger.
Ohio’s laws state that people are considered impaired or to be driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol if they have blood alcohol concentrations (BAC) of .08 percent or higher or if they are impaired by any kind of drug, controlled substance or combination of items.
Ohio’s laws restrict those under the age of 18 to a blood alcohol concentration of .02 percent or lower. Anyone who violates these laws can be charged with a BUI (boating under the influence) but may receive a DUI (driving under the influence) charge. It’s possible to face fines and other penalties depending on the specifics of the case.
One other thing to keep in mind is that the substance you’re impaired from does matter. If you are impaired because of using marijuana, for example, you could face additional charges based on the drug’s status as illegal in the state. The same is true with opiate drugs and other restricted medications. It’s always a good idea to discuss your situation with your attorney if there is any question of what you were taking at the time of an arrest. You don’t want to end up facing multiple charges on top of a DUI or BUI.
Source: Boat Ohio, “Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs Prohibited / Testing,” accessed June 14, 2018